Friday, December 21, 2007

first bite!

yesterday elijah turned 6 months! in honor of that we decided to start him on rice cereal at bed time. im beginning to have a hard time keeping up with his big self. well like many things, it went nothing like we expected. apparently i hadnt thought out the fact that he would not know how to eat from a spoon. poor boy was so confused! and i wanted to use his pretty engraved baby dishes when i prolly wouldve been better off using his plastic baby spoon. the recommended ratio made it so milky that it was still mostly liquid. it was pretty funny.
are you spozed to feed this to them with a bottle?
he still woke up at the same time hungry. he must not have gotten very much at all. better luck next time to us.

3 comments:

bandofbrothers said...

ok--that was hysterical. i love 1st time parents. they are so stinkin cute it hurts. it looks like buggy was very eager to grab the whole bowl out of your arms. i think you can make it less soupy soon.i did not want to make it too thick at 1st cuz i was afraid ollie would get all stopped up. i have a $100 tiffany spoon from my aunt that we still have not busted out for calvin. it's just too pretty. oh, i miss you already and it's only been a few days. love you guys!

Olive Oyl said...

WE MISS YOU GUYS!

Barbie said...

Hi Gretchen, it's Barbie, we've met a couple of times. I was surfing through blogs and onto your xanga site. I read your post about Elijah's sleep habits and I can totally relate. My Dr. told me the same thing and it was hard the first couple of nights, but now Aubrey wants her bed when she's tired. Once she got older, she just didn't like sleeping with us anymore. As for the night feedings, I was so worried she was hungry because she was a big baby, but my Dr. assured me that it was just a habit we created. When she would get up to eat, I would just rock her back to sleep or let her cry (for only like 10 minutes) It only took and week and then she was sleeping through the night. Figuring out all this stuff is HARD. Good luck!

-I didn't know how to post a comment on xanga